The Cabin at the End of the World by Paul Tremblay

DNF at 120 pages.

I tried to finish it but I just couldn’t do it. A couple and their daughter are having a holiday in a remote cabin in New England I think, when a group of four people with threatening weapons and words of dire warning try to get the family to let them into the cabin.

As a huge fan of SFF I am easy with crazy situations and things that appear outlandish but there was something about this that just rubbed me the wrong way. Like if you want people to help you with whatever you don’t turn up at their door with crazy home made weapons, cut their phone lines and then please ask them to let you in and help them. It just makes no sense to me and turned me off the whole book.

It opened pleasantly enough, I liked the family, the daughter in particular, and Leonard seemed interesting and intriguing, but once the other three turned up it just nosedived. I also wasn’t mad about the writing, seemed a bit stilted, didn’t seem to flow. Maybe I started this at the wrong time or something but it just actively turned me off, life’s too short sometimes.

1.5 stars out of 5

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started